Wayne Caldwell


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


Blair has built a considerable list of Appalachian voices, and when Wayne Caldwell submitted this gorgeous collection, his lines were read aloud in our editorial office—and the full staff fell in love with these poems that so beautifully employ the musical language of Appalachia. This work will appeal to those in Appalachia, the Southeast, and others who admire the work of Ron Rash, Kathryn Stripling Byer, and James Still.


Wayne Caldwell:
Wayne Caldwell is the author of the novels Cataloochee (2007) and Requiem by Fire (2010). He has won the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award from the Western North Carolina Historical Association and the James Still Award from the Fellowship of Southern Writers. Woodsmoke is his first collection of poetry. He lives with his wife, Mary, just west of Asheville, on land that has been in her family since 1831. In his spare time, he works up firewood.